ANC MPs-elect set to take oath of office

ODM Director of Elections Junet Mohammed Photo:Courtesy

Some MPs-elect allied to the Opposition have indicated they will attend the swearing-in ceremony slated for August 30.

A section of the lawmakers interviewed said they were ready to take the oath and would not risk a by-election in their constituencies.

ALSO READ: Jubilee profit grows as insurer targets Congo market

“You have seen even the most controversial NASA governors, including Ali Hassan Joho of Mombasa, being sworn-in in broad-daylight because it is a legal requirement,” said Lugari MP-elect Ayub Savula.

Nonetheless, the lawmaker was categorical that he would not participate in electing the House speaker.

“It is not an official position of our ANC party but a decision I have taken as an individual because it would be tiresome and expensive mounting another campaign in case a by-election is called in my area,” said Mr Savula.

His sentiments were echoed by his Lurambi counterpart, Titus Khamala (ANC), who argued that it was only after the swearing-in that legislators can authoritatively push for justice to be done following the contested presidential poll.

He said affiliate parties must know and respect their boundaries within the coalition.

“It is not proper for our colleagues in ODM to make demands that infringe on other players’ freedom within NASA,” he said.

Earlier, in a statement by ODM Director of Elections Junet Mohammed for the NASA National Steering Committee, the opposition coalition warned they would take oath of office after the determination of the petition challenging President Uhuru Kenyatta’s re-election.

But Khamala faulted Mr Mohammed, saying MPs should be given the green light to attend the swearing-in event. 

ALSO READ: TSC assures on teachers’ pay raise

Popular Standard Digital News Feeds

Be the first to comment on "ANC MPs-elect set to take oath of office"

Leave a Comment